DOE Announces Teams For 2020 Collegiate Wind Competition


The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has announced 12 teams selected to participate in the 2020 Collegiate Wind Competition. Three new schools have been selected along with nine returning teams from previous competitions.

The colleges and universities selected to participate in the Collegiate Wind Competition 2020 are as follows:

  • California State University, Chico
  • California State University Maritime Academy
  • James Madison University
  • University of Maryland
  • University of New Haven
  • Northern Arizona University
  • The Pennsylvania State University
  • Texas Tech University
  • Tuskegee University
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Washington State University-Everett with Everett Community College
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison

This biennial event challenges multidisciplinary teams of undergraduate students to develop a project plan based on wind energy market and siting considerations, design and build a model wind turbine, and test their turbine against a set of rigorous performance criteria. The participating teams will combine the expertise of students from a variety of programs, such as engineering, business, communications and social science, to develop state-of-the-art wind energy solutions as a team.

The DOE has held the Collegiate Wind Competition every other year at the American Wind Energy Association’s WINDPOWER Conference and Exhibition since 2014. The California State University Maritime Academy claimed the top spot in the last competition.

Leave a Comment
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify of