UWIG Announces Wind Integration Achievement Honorees


The Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT), Southern California Edison (SCE), the California Independent System Operator (CAISO), Steve Lindenberg of the U.S. Department of Energy, and wind industry consultant Edgar DeMeo will be honored as recipients of the Utility Wind Integration Group's (UWIG) Annual Achievement Award. The organization also announced winners for the inaugural year of its scholarship program.

UWIG President Henry Durrwachter will present the awards and recognize the scholarship recipients at a reception during its 2009 Spring Technical Workshop and Annual Meeting April 2-3 in Philadelphia.

The citation for the award to ERCOT highlights the work of Warren Lasher and Dan Woodfin in conducting the transmission-planning process to implement the Texas competitive renewable energy zone legislation.

The citation for the award to SCE and CAISO highlights the efforts of John Fielder, Jorge Chacon, Karen Edson, David Hawkins, Darius Shirmohammadi and Hal Romanowitz for innovation and leadership shown in developing the Tehachapi transmission plan.

Lindenberg and DeMeo are being honored for their work in managing and completing the process of producing the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) report on achieving 20% Wind Energy by 2030.

In addition, the organization says that Ryan Nicolson of the University of Wisconsin-Platteville, Michael Heinen of Michigan Technological University and David Krause of Ovid-Elsie High School are the 2009 UWIG scholarship program recipients. Nicolson and Heinen will receive $2,000 scholarships. Krause, who intends to attend Michigan Institute of Aviation and Technology in the fall, will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

UWIG will also honor outgoing board members Charles Linderman of the Edison Electric Institute, Charles McGowin of the Electric Power Research Institute and Elliot Mainzer of Bonneville Power Administration for their service to the organization.

SOURCE: The Utility Wind Integration Group

Leave a Comment
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify of