UWIG Announces 2011 Technical Achievement Honorees, Scholarship Recipients


The Utility Wind Integration Group (UWIG) has announced that Jay Caspary of the Southwest Power Pool, John Dumas of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, and key employees of the New York Independent System Operator, ISO New England and Hydro-Quebec will receive UWIG'S 2011 Annual Achievement Award. The organization also announced winners for the third year of its scholarship program.

UWIG President Henry Durrwachter will present the awards and recognize the scholarship recipients at a reception during its 2011 Spring Technical Workshop and Annual Meeting, held April 14-15 in Kansas City, Mo.

‘All of these recipients have extended the state of the art and the science of integrating wind generation into utility power systems,’ says Durrwachter. ‘Not only has there been an expansion of understanding of how to integrate wind, but there has been significant progress made in the steps to undertake it.’

In addition, UWIG announced that Nicole Clock of the Oregon Institute of Technology, Kai Van Horn of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Adam Shirazi of Montgomery College are the recipients of the 2011 UWIG Scholarship Program.

Clock and Van Horn will receive $2,000 engineering scholarships, and Shirazi will receive a $1,000 wind plant/turbine technology scholarship.

SOURCE: Utility Wind Integration Group

Leave a Comment
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify of