Governors’ Energy And Climate Coalition Formed


The newly formed Governors' Energy and Climate Coalition, representing 30 states and territories, has pledged to work with Congress to pass legislation that will address climate change and provide the nation with a comprehensive energy strategy. The bipartisan group of governors outlined two principles: support for comprehensive federal policy and advocating an active state-federal partnership.

The coalition represents states from every region of the country and will work together to encourage sound state and federal climate policy. The coalition's efforts will be facilitated by the Georgetown State-Federal Climate Resource Center at Georgetown Law, which provides policy support for state and federal efforts to address climate change.

‘It is not easy to bring together such a diverse group of governors on any topic, so this coalition speaks loudly to the need to work with states and adopt a federal approach as we work toward our common energy and green economy goals,’ says Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger, R-Calif.

The coalition states are California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin, as well as the territories of Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

SOURCE: Georgetown State-Federal Climate Resource Center

Leave a Comment
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify of