Wind Contributors Honored at Banquet

NAW Staff
by NAW Staff
on June 14, 2006 No Comments
Categories : People

The American Wind Energy Association (AWEA) honored 23 individuals and organizations for their contributions to the wind power industry at its annual awards banquet at its annual Conference & Exhibition.
The 2006 awardees are:
*The State Leadership awards went to Pennsylvania Gov. Edward Rendell, Sec. Katie McGinty, and Texas Rep. David Swinford ‘for extraordinary leadership in state renewable energy policies,’ says AWEA.
Awards also were given to Pennsylvania Reps. William Adolph Jr., Chris Ross and Michael Veon and Pennsylvania Sen. Edwin Erickson ‘for tireless support of state renewable energy policies.’
*The Congressional Leadership awards was presented to U.S. Sen. Charles Grassley (Iowa) and U.S. Rep. Jim McCrery (Louisiana) ‘for continuing leadership in support of wind energy and the wind energy production tax credit.’
Awards were given to U.S. Sens. Byron Dorgan (North Dakota) and Kent Conrad (North Dakota) ‘for steadfast leadership in support of wind and other renewable technologies,’ and to U.S. Sen. Jim Jeffords (Vermont) ‘for long and steadfast leadership in support of wind and other renewable technologies.’
*The Wind Energy Advocacy award went to Beth Soholt of Wind on the Wires ‘for outstanding leadership and support of wind through effective advocacy.’
*The Outstanding Achievement in Operations was awarded to Tad Miller of enXco, ‘in recognition of years of outstanding dedication to the sound development and operation of wind power generation.’
*The Lifetime Achievement award was given to Harold Romanowitz of Oak Creek Energy Systems Inc., ‘in recognition for years of outstanding industry leadership and support.’
*The Technical Achievement award was presented to Jeff Petter of Northern Power Systems ‘for exceptional expertise and leadership in wind turbine direct drive and power electronics.’
*The Special Achievement awards were presented to Charlie Smith of the Utility Wind Integration Group ‘for outstanding contributions to the acceptance of wind power by the electric power sector;’ to Whole Foods Market ‘in recognition of outstanding leadership and the promotion of green power and renewable energy;’ to Sam Enfield of PPM Energy Atlantic Renewable ‘for providing outstanding leadership and representation for the industry in its work on environmental issues;’ and to Craig Hansen of Windward Engineering LLC ‘for gifted leadership of the U.S. IEC Technical Advisory Group on national and international wind turbine standards development.’
*The Utility Leadership award went to Puget Sound Energy ‘for an outstanding leadership role in the increasing utilization of wind power by the electric utility industry.’
*The Academic Achievement award was given to James Manwell and the Renewable Energy Research Laboratory ‘for outstanding research and leadership in the wind energy program at the University of Massachusetts.’
*The Market Maker award was presented to Austin Energy ‘for significant advances in the development of the green power market through its GreenChoice program.’

Leave a Comment