Nevada Governor Establishes Transmission Advisory Committee

NAW Staff
by NAW Staff
on May 10, 2007 No Comments
Categories : Policy Watch

Gov. Jim Gibbons, R-Nev., has signed an executive order establishing the Nevada Renewable Energy Transmission Access Advisory Committee.

‘Much of Nevada's renewable energy resources are located away from the grid,’ says Gibbons. ‘In order for companies to locate in Nevada and develop our renewable energy resources, we need to ensure they have access to the transmission infrastructure that will allow them to bring their energy to the marketplace.’

The committee's members will work with the governor's energy advisor. Gibbons has named 14 members to the committee. The members include:
– Daniel Schochet, vice president, Ormat (chair),
– Carolyn Barbash, transmission executive, Sierra Pacific and Nevada Power (vice chair),
– Jeneane Harter, president, HiTech Communications (vice chair),
– Marion Barritt, director, American Solar Energy Society,
– Tim Carlson, president and chief executive officer, Powered by Renewables,
– Gilbert Cohen, senior vice president, Acciona Solar Power,
– Thomas Fair, renewable energy executive, Nevada Power and Sierra Pacific,
– Joseph Greco, vice president, western region, Caithness Energy,
– Erin Iping Kuo, director, Next Generation Etak and president of the board of directors, Nevada EcoNet,
– Raj Mehta, deputy director, Nevada State Office of Energy,
– Christy Morris, oil, gas and geothermal program manager, Nevada Division of Minerals,
– Rebecca Wagner, commissioner, Public Utilities Commission of Nevada,
– Gary Wayne, director of strategic projects, SunPower Corp., and
– Brian Whalen, transmission planning manager, Nevada Power and Sierra Pacific.

Leave a Comment