DOI Announces New Centers For Climate-Change Research

Posted by NAW Staff on October 11, 2011 No Comments
Categories : FYI

Department of the Interior (DOI) Secretary Ken Salazar has announced that three universities have been selected to host the DOI's Climate Science Centers (CSCs) for the Northeast, South Central and Pacific Islands regions.

The three locations complete the national network of eight CSCs that will serve to provide land managers in federal, state and local agencies access to the best science available regarding climate change and other landscape-scale stressors.

The following three universities were selected:

  • The University of Massachusetts-Amherst, which will host the Northeast Climate Science Center;
  • The University of Oklahoma, which will host the South Central Climate Science Center; and
  • The University of Hawaii-Manoa in Honolulu, which will host the Pacific Islands Climate Science Center.

"The nationwide network of Climate Science Centers will provide the scientific talent and commitment necessary for understanding how climate change and other landscape stressors will change the face of the United States, and how the Department of the Interior, as our nation's chief steward of natural and cultural resources, can prepare and respond," Salazar says, adding that the CSCs will expand climate science capabilities without building new facilities or duplicating existing capabilities.

More information on the CSCs can be found here.

Leave a Comment